Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There is a plethora of choices when it comes to choosing a course. Different types of universities offer different courses related to the student’s field of interest. But should the universities include a course completely contrasting to the actual field of study the student has chosen? Well, I agree with this point that the university should offer a different course completely different from the student’s field of study for the following reasons.

If a university offers a different course unrelated to the student’s choice of field, it allow the student to explore different categories of other fields. For example, if a university where computer science engineers are given a course of martial arts, which is completely different from the field of their study as it requires movement of body unlike sitting in front of the computer for hours, then it may help the students to do some exercise and keep their body fit. As the students of computer science have a lot of issues regarding back pain, doing martial art would stretch their muscles, release the work stress, teach them self defence and create a healthy milieu for their studies. Thus, offering a separate course would definitely alleviate the well-being of the students.

If we look back at the history, all the kings in history learnt everything they could so as to set an example for his people. Kings learnt politics and different stratagems related to war from various types of teachers. He should be an embodiment of all different things. If we consider Bodhivarma, who knew medical science as well as kung fu, we can see that how his skills were in use when he helped the Chinese people to recover from a deadly disease and even helped them free of the barbaric people who used to torture innocent Chinese people. Medical science and Kungfu and completely irrelevant to each other. But knowing them both did help a lot many lives. This is true even in today’s generation. Knowledge never goes waste. So, if the universities offer a completely different course then it would surely help the students in one way or the other.

If the university introduces an extra course it may be possible that the students may get tired because of too many courses, but if the course is completely different then they may even find it interesting. So, including a course different to the student’s field will help the students to engage themselves more and more in different activities and they might even get a good hobby out of it.