Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Universities are the places where people get in to become master of their subject, and if they are taught variety of subjects then they might be jack of all and master of none. So, I disagree with the statement that students should study variety of courses outside of their own field.

Learning is a life long process. Man learns, from his cot to the grave. There is no age limit for learning, however, learning capacity gets reduced with age but it remains continue. It is an established fact that toddlers till the age of 5 have hundred percent learning capacity, which starts decreasing after that. In tender age students can learn variety of subjects but in university they need to be specific.

In school, students are taught almost every subject from mathematics to history. It is the time, when they get familiar with all fields and find some subjects interesting and some subjects banal. In colleges they get relatively concise and are taught basics of major subjects. And, in university students get entered in their favorite field of study. Universities, being large body are fully equipped with highly qualified teachers and advances techniques to make the student master of his work.

On the other hand, if students are taught variety of courses in addition to the student's field of study then, they can be overloaded. It might lead to deviation from their own field. Hence, the students may be jack of all and master of none. Moreover, as schools and colleges use to teach basics of all subject, repetition of those subject can be wastages of resources, time and money. However, courses outside the student's field of study those are allied and bolstering, should no doubt be included in university curriculum. For example, statistics is an important subject that might not be taught in school and college but should be included in university course line. Because, every research need to be analyzed statistically, and if it is not included along with the student's subject of study, his research might has no value.

However, in some cases, people do not get job in the field they have studied. In this case, the variety of subjects they learned in school and college help them to perform their job. So, it can assume that students should have knowledge of all subjects in addition to their own field.

Similarly some subjects for the grooming of student’s personality and making him ready for practical life should be the part of university curriculum. So, it can be concluded that university should include field subjects along with some allied subjects to make the students fully equipped and ready for practical life ahead.