The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The given argument is presented by the council of the county in the process of deciding whether the Maple county should prevent the development of existing farm land in the county or not. The council is also concerned with the side effects of limiting the development of farmland that, it can affect the price of real estate in county. However, advocators of restriction quote the example of Chestnut county where such restrictions did not have visible effect on land price in ten years, on the other hand rivals of this opinion give the example of Pine County where such measures caused 100% increase in land price in 15 years. So, Council predicts that restriction on developing farmland would result in increased housing price in Maple County. This argument is based merely on comparison of two neighboring counties, however, there are many unanswered questions those should be addressed before any decision.

The earth population is increasing day by day. The cities where few thousand people were living have now millions of residents. Urban and semi-urban areas are over-crowded. To accommodate the increasing population, new housing counties are being developed. So, if new housing schemes are restricted, there would be an increased competition for already built houses and this will ultimately increase the price.

The reasons due to which, Cheshnut and Pine counties had restricted the farmland development are not mentioned. It is possible that people had migrated from Cheshnut county for employment to other cities, then there was no need to construct new buildings. It is also possible that there was not enough supply of basic necessities of life like water, that was making the place not good for living. There is also possibility that some industrial estate has been developed in the area. Noise and pollution of the industry can demotivate the people to purchase house in Cheshnut county. So, there is not a visible increase in price is evident, however, a little increase can be realted to inflation.

The arguer has not discussed the reasons because of those, Pine county had restricted the developmet of residential housings. It is possible that county doesnot want to expand its boundries. It is possible that, by increasing the houses, basic structure of the county can be deformed. There is also possible that the county is already famous for its torist attirations, so by putting restriction on the development of residential housing, the prices went up.

So, before making a decision above stated question should be answered. The ground realities of the Maple county should be addressed. If the Maple county has good scenetic places and all life necesseties are available like Pine county, then there is a good reason of increase in housing prices. On the other hand, if Maple county is laking the basics of life then there may be not increase in housing price would be seen. Without having a good knowledge of Maple county, it would not good to give any perdiction about housing establishment.