Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Should university education be streamlined to only courses relevant to the field of study of the student or should students be allowed to chart their own path while in university?

This age old question has still not been answered cogently enough and has been the topic of discourse in rarified academic circles for dunk years. There are various sides to the argument, some induviduals assert that various courses in university especially professional courses need a standardized curriculum as all professionals require the same skills in practice. This lacks merit in the present day and it is important to understand that In this ever changing world which we find ourselves studnts should be allowed to chart their path through university with some level of guidance as they would in the real world.

Mr Boris Johnson the Prime minister of the United Kingdom studied the Classics in the prestigious Oxford University and then went on to be a politician, the myriad of skills needed to be a successful prime minister couldn’t have been afforded him by classes in the classics. His endeavors in school were definitely important to build him up into a knowledgeable and astute professional but it is glaring that there is no correlation beyween the path through which life has taken him and the courses he did under “the classics”. This goes to show that the courses induviduals study in school may not end up being what they practice as professionals and the are a plehthora of skills needed to be successful in life and these skills cannot be gotten if students are forced to study only certain courses.

There is a popular saying that says find a job you love and you never need to work again, this means that it is only in discpvering yourself that you can do your best work, It is only if students are allowed to pick coursesmwhich they may have an inkiling of interst in that they are truly able to discover themselves and in doing so become the best possible versions of themselves. Alex Ekwueme a Nigerian politician in the 1970s was a trained architect from the university of Washington and only ddiscovered his love for leadership and nation building from courses he took on political systems while he was a student of Architecture. This portrays that students are able to find themselves better when they are not stifled by strict curricula.

From the evidence given above, it is clear that well rounded induviduals are a product of a school system that provides an enabling environment for introspection and self-discovery and several skills are needed to be successful in life, also students may not necessarily practice what they are taught in school afterall before most students enroll for various university programs they only have a vague idea of what the course entails.