Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Is it necessary to take a variety of courses outside one's field of study to become a well-rounded individual? Admittedly, it would surely help students to gain a better perspective and knowledge they can use to analyze an issue from a variety of viewpoints. However, in my view, this education should be mandatory at the primary or high-school level rather than at the university level.

At the beginner level of education, students can focus on a number of courses since each one will be designed to give them an introductory idea of the topic. It should be mandatory at this level to help students in personality development and give them exposure to a variety of courses so that they can decide their field of interest, and pursue their careers accordingly. This strategy should be used as a mechanism that can help students trigger a life-long interest in a certain field at the school level.

University students would have already decided on the field of study they want to master. Making it mandatory for every student to take courses outside the student's field of study would be counter-productive in this case. First of all, university courses are different ball game. These courses dive deep into a field and include a number of project works, practical assignments, and research work to master the subject. Some students may not have the required time to take courses outside the field of study. For instance, computer science programs include a number of courses that require a lot of time to understand the practical aspects of the subject. If a student from such a field is forced to take other courses, it may affect his or her grades, skills, and career eventually. On the other hand, a student from a field that requires less practical work, such as a humanities student may get some additional time to complete the courses from the core field. Considering this, it is better to let the students decide whether they want to take other courses.

One may argue that taking a variety of courses should be mandatory for the students to grow intellectually, and to gain the social skills required in almost any career. However, the knowledge students get from the variety of courses in primary and high school is enough for this purpose. Implementing such a forceful policy at the university level is not viable. A simple reason for this is that a student could have spent his time working on a research project or gaining skills that would help him make a better profile.

In sum, forcing every student to take courses outside the field of study would be a grave mistake. Universities should adopt a flexible policy so that students from all fields can get additional courses whenever they get the required time during their program and get benefitted accordingly.