Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

University should be a place where the quest of knowledge is fulfilled. The prompt recommends that students should take different courses outside the student’s field of study in universities. In modern era, job sectors are changing very fast for individuals, so one needs to learn necessary skills by own to cope up with the changes in job fields. In my opinion, I partially agree with the prompt for the following reasons.

To flourish in career, one need to have different practical skills such as good communication, computer skills, mental quickness, adaptability to changes and smartness. All of these qualities can not be achieved by only focusing on the courses offered by one’s field of study. To develop a student’s personality for his future career, he need to take different personality development courses or participate in workshops or engagements. These skills may seem easy to achieve but requires a long time practice and for which courses teaching such skills should be taken otherwise a student might be good in job related tasks, but fall behind due to lack of such technical skills. For instance, suppose there is new graduated who has dedicated his entire time to become expert in his field of work but not able to express himself properly will fall behind in his career.

Furthermore, choosing an appropriate subject is very tricky task for a student. One may not realize in where his true interest lies and end up taking a wrong one in which he can’t find any interests. By allowing students to take different courses can enable them to explore different fields and find their actual interest. It might help them to decide whether to continue in their field or not. Such early realizations are really beneficial for a student and also can save a young person from falling into depression. There are many cases where students take drastic steps without being able to cope up with the curriculum of their subject and this opportunity might find a way for them to find light in the dark alley..

However, the university time is very crucial for each and every student as they are getting prepared to enter the job field. Some students might not be mature enough to choose what is needed for him and end up getting enrolled in many courses which lead to avoid his own subject though he was feeling interest in it. For example, a computer science engineering students not only need to sudy the subjects outlined by the course but also need to learn coding, development or many other things. So by enrolling in many different courses can end in taking his time which he should have dedicated for developing his field’s technical skills. He might have feel done much better in his own subject if he wasn’t distracted by enrolling in other courses without much thinking. A student should not give on his field of study without trying enough and falling into more uncertianty due to having many options. Even if the universities allow to take other courses it should have counselling facility to guide a student to the right path.

In conclusion, for a student it might be a great opportunity or a reason for more confusion if allowed to enroll in different courses other than the student’s field of study. This may result in opening a student to various options and make him able to learn technical skills required for this future career. But without proper guidance, this may up end up confusing the student as he can’t choose what he actually want to learn among all the options.