Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside

the student's field of study.

many students often require students to take many courses as electives which are outside student’s field of study. The variety of courses of different fields helps students to not only develop in their field but also gain insight and knowledge about the courses and subjects which are not pertaining to their major. The varied subjects that students study over the course of their study helps the student to become an all-rounder. however a reasonable critic might argue that studying different courses at university that are not related to student’ s major might implicate that they will have less time to study for their own field. but on the contrary, studying subjects just pertaining to the field may help the students to master their field but their ideas will only remain limited to their field.

Moreover studying variety of subjects are neccessary for life. For example, a student chose to major in computer science. Although by the time he or she completes a degree in computer science, he or she will have valuable knowledge in all the subjects pertaining to computer science which makes them to achieve huge successes in life. however when they step outside in the real world there might be many situations that they might have to conquer which might not require their field knowledge, but knowledge pertaining to other fields.

Moreover after high school, many students make a hasty decision for which major to take. Sometimes a student might end up taking a course due to its popularity, or friend’s influence. however while studying to study the course along with all the electives pertaining to different fields students might realize that they have ended up taking wrong course, or might realize that the other field interests them more. Hence taking diversity of courses other than the field might help the students in not only exploring all the available fields but also helping them chose what is right for them.

The world is constantly and rapidly seeking people who are diverse and multi-talented- whose talent not only limits to one field but diversity of fields.