Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

High schools allow students to choose elective courses in order to give them freedom to broaden their experience of different fields of study. Universities should thus not restric students to take courses merely from those fields which they are interested in studying. Many students who just graduated from high school does not fully recognize their area of interest. Some students think that they would be excellent doctors, pharmacists, or engineers before matriculating to university. However, after attending few courses at the university, it is farely common for students to change their major either because they believe that the major they are currently studying does not fit their interest or because the major is too difficult for them.

In order to let students experience other fields to identify which major they fit best, students should have freedom in choosing the courses they take. Through these encountering with fields outside of their major, they can be more versatile as a student and find their future career. If they were restricted to study only the courses within the major they study, they will never find out whether other major fits them better or not. It is also common for students to choose courses in order to learn something new and enhance their skills. A lot of music, art, physical education, and business courses allow students to find new hobbies and skills or enhance their current abilities. Even though these courses may not be within the fields they are studying, the opportunity to learn through various courses will allow students to have fun and broaden their skills.

Moreover, through these opportunites, students can find new friends outside of their fields and widen each other's perspectives. Without the opportunity to take the courses from fields outside of their own major, it is difficult for students to make friends who pursue a different career. It is true that students will more likely graduate within 4 years if the universities require students to take courses only within their major. However, since the students are going to be working for next few decades anyways, it would be more benefitial to allow them to further their ability and character by taking different courses. They would be more happier if they spend 1 or 2 extra year in college to find a field that they truly enjoy. Although it is true that there are few benefits from universities requiring students to take courses only within the fields they are studying, the benefits coming from allowing students to freely choose courses are far greater.