Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Univerties are open for students to define courses within the fields they are interested sure does sound alluring.

However, requires a deeper thought towards the negetive consequences it prevails with it.

Though, the applicants or as we call them youn adults are considered independant and cognizant enough to choose what is best from them. However, we cannot generalize that fact give room for students to explore there interests while studying.

A recent survey conducted in Indian collages had confounding take aways, more than 45% of the undergrad students had no idea of what they wanted to become.

This custom curriculam is producing only 'functional' graduates with only limited understanding of a particular domain oblivious about the pragmatic knowledge to articulate any other terrestrial issues. This does not mean that we expect an engineer to be able to perform a complicated heart transplant, but the intent to be able to bifuracate any issue at hand and articulate it analytically.

Moreover, we need to be able to put credance in how students define what they are interested in : is a field difficult to comperehand or easy to persue? With the advert of social media in our lives the millenails are naturally primed to purse something thrilling, out of the box, unconvential. That in itself creates a damp in the market with no weightage given to utilitarain aspects.

In the current curriculam the idea of electives is to enable to students to choose the subjects; learn; understand the subject from a field they are interested in with out laying any hinderence to the core/ essentials knowledge basis.