Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

With the increase in tuition of higher education, there has been an uproar from the public decrying the amount of classes students take to obtain their degree. I believe universities should continue to require students to take courses outside of the field they are interested in studying.

When high school students graduate, some may know what their career will be. They may have been exposed to their chosen path as teenagers, and because of it there is no ambiguity for what their major will be in college. On the other hand, there are many students who are clueless about which major to select. Taking basic courses can expose them to a field which they may enjoy. This was the case with me. I knew my life would revolve around science when I took biology as a freshman in college.

Having a basic understanding of how life functions outside of your major is good for the student. In turn, this benefits society. Perhaps a student whose intention was not to major in economics, now has a better idea of how to make a budget because he learned it in his economics class. Another example is people understanding how science works. This will prevent them from falling into the trap of believing conspiracy theories they may see online.

In recent years, there has been an explosion in the price of tuition, and forcing students to take more classes will make it more difficult for them to pay. This is a valid counterpoint. Adding more classes to the student's career equates to college being more expensive. However, the benefits of exposing students to classes outside their chosen field are greater. I do not believe the solution to this issue is to remove classes, but to make college more affordable.

There are many observable benefits as a result of students taking classes outside of their chosen fields. Consequently, universities should require students to continue to take those courses.