The US should dispense with regulated speed limits on interstate highways, since drivers rarely abide by them.

Write a response discussing your reaction to the stated policy. Justify your reasoning for the position you take. Explain the potential consequences or implications for implementing such a policy and how this informs your position.

Throughout the decades, many policies have been enacted to prioritize the safety and well-being of our citizens on the road. Among these regulations include increasing the legal drinking age, mandating seatbelts as well as implementing a carpool lane. Of all the regulations passed, the most vital to road safety is the speed limit. As such, the United States should definitely continue regulating speed limits on interstate highways.

First and foremost, the speed limit is vital for the safety of all drivers. By ensuring that each individual driver can only accelerate to a certain speed, the government helps ensure the safety of every driver on the road. Since drivers cannot drive too fast, they are less likely to get distracted by or do something reckless that results in accidents. Having a speed limit — along with designating fast, normal and slow lanes — also allows drivers to move at a relatively uniform speed within their respective lanes, making reckless driving less likely to happen. Thus, while opponents argue that drivers rarely abide by speed limits, these regulations were implemented for a reason and continue to ensure the safety of drivers on the road.

Another important reason to keep the speed limit is that even if they don’t help improve road safety, at the very least, they keep things from getting worse. While this might not be the most motivating of reasons, speed limits help intimidate citizens into following the law and keeping other drivers safe. If drivers already don’t abide the speed limit, dispensing the speed limit will encourage even more drivers to do so. Thus, dispensing the regulated speed limit would have a slippery slope effect that will encourage drivers to embrace bad behaviors.

Furthermore, enacting speed limits help ensure the safety of young or inexperienced drivers. Speed limits help keep traffic relatively orderly. As such, a regulated interstate highway is a much safer and more comfortable environment for beginner drivers. If speed limits were dispensed, the traffic on interstate highways would become busier and more chaotic. While the veteran driver might be able to handle himself, young and inexperienced ones might not. Thus, speed limits are like a social benefit in which the most inexperienced drivers benefit from them the most.

Last but not least, there is no harm in continuing to regulate speed limits. Even though dissenters argue that drivers rarely abide by them, continuing to enact speed limits do not produce any harm while promoting potential benefits. On the other hand, as discussed in the previous paragraph, dispensing speed limits would promote reckless driving and speeding among drivers, while not bringing in any additional benefits. Performing a simple cost-benefit analysis, it’s clear that continuing to regulate speed limits is the smarter choice.

In conclusion, speed limits have played a big and vital role in shaping the current road safety regulations in the United States. As discussed, dispensing with regulated speed limits proves no benefits and will encourage worse driver behavior, while keeping them shows no downside but will continue to give us various benefits. Hence, the United States should continue with regulated speed limits on interstate highways, regardless of how drivers treat them.