We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Life is all about learning; and we do learn from nature and people with whom we are surrounded but here a thesis says that we can learn relatively more from people of whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own. And I agree with this statement for following two reasons, but also disagree because if one has decided to learn from those whose views are contradictory, then oneself can definitely learn more from those also.

It is necessary to have communication and adequate bonding to learn from people. If we know the person adequately, we can understand what are the strength and weakness that person possess. As we share most of the time with our colleague and partner and we come across many situations, either challenging or easygoing, and everyone does have a different approach of tackling and manipulating that. So, it might happen that, someone’s approach may be better than other one, which gives an opportunity to learn for a person whose approach relatively lacking. If person who is better with approach, is congenial to one, who is lacking, then they can share their strategies without any hesitant. This sharing help to learn and improve oneself without putting much energy on other aspects, which may come across if person is not congenial.

Two people having same ideology and view opens the path to discuss and share their perspectives but if one has some contradicting opinion then that will give a counterpoint to the situations which open ups the knowledge bank to the thoughts, and may help one to think in all around, and it is a necessity to think all around in life to take wise decision. However, this can only be possible if the person is quite determined to accept the counterpoints or views from the other side of the table. If person with the contradictory views is a congenial, then transaction may be relatively smooth if the person is not congenial. Therefore, having a congenial relation with someone may help someone to learn more, and it has also proven by few researchers in their research that, one is not just a himself/herself but combination of people with which oneself is surrounded.

If person, who want to learn or naïve, is quite determined to learn and have patience to bare as well as person with a contradictory view is someone well established and over-achiever or mastered in his/her field, then learnings from master might be quite beneficent. For example, consider an any sports where people do play against each other but at the end of the game, they share their experiences and do give suggestions to the younger ones. Therefore, quality of learning may be high from a person with the contradictory views.

In the conclusion, we share most of time of our life with the loved ones who might share the same views or might not, but we learn from those and goes forward in life.