We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own;disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

A disagreement. Whenever we hear or use or, in whatever way, encounter this word, a negative connotation runs down our spine.Ought it always mean negative?Is it precluding us from learning?Does it mean hinderance to our progress?Is it the cause of our mental agitation?The conspicuous answer to this rhetoric question is “NOT ALWAYS”.

As Mahatma Gandhi once said”Healthy disagreement is often a good sign of progress”,I completely concede to this statement.In a world where every genetic combination gives rise to a different organism,it is of no surprise that every being in this planet is quite disparate and this diaprity is what has transported us from the world of caves to a world of robots-a world of technology. Every being is entitled to his own opinion and this individuality has assisted the humans in achieving great heighst.Had, we humans accepted to what was as what it ought to be,we would never have been able to come out of the caves and distinguish ourselves from the other living beings and thus announce onself as the most intelligent-the most superior.

Learning is a continuous process.Many people argue that in the absence of harmony, it becomes difficult for people to learn new things.But I believe that the disagreement with the works of his counterparts is what helped Sir Isaac Newton to establish that all the colors came from white after he passed the light through the prism.Before Newton, many people believed the different theories of colors,including that of Aristotle which stated that colors came from black and white.But Newton disagreed. This disagreement is what led Newton to develop the Newton’s theory of color.

Disagreement comes in all facets of life and it is inevitable.For example: many times in history,when a government passes a bill which is against the will of the public, the public resort to protest.It becomes difficult for the police to manage this hysterical mass of people thereby causing a stressful situation,however,this agitation of the public compels the parliament to reconsider their decision and with amendments pass a new bill which will likely address the needs of the people.This, stress thus proves helps the parliament to learn their public’s needs .Hence even if there is stress due to disagreement ; there is a high chance that this stress will eventually bring a fruitful outcome.

Many opponents would still argue that even if disagreement helps in learning , we learn more from people whose views are in harmony with that of theirs.This is not true. When we are with people who hold the same views with that of ours, we are merely just nourishing each others vanities.And the greatest tragedy about vanity is that it precludes us from learning further by making us complacent and disdainful.This can be supported by an example : when two people who find dancing insipid and bland,they both unanimously agree that it is a boring art and thereby without trying, adhere to their long held belief: dnace is boring.However,if among the two, one has an interest in dancing he can persuade the other to dance and help the other to expand his horizons about the art :dance.This way disagreement will actually prove to accelerate learning rather than inhibiting.Even when we look at our daily lives , we usually see disagreement among childrens, among parents and childrens, among children and teachers, among the boss and the employee; among colleagues and the list goes on and on. Many of us have disagreed with our parents about various matters.But this disagreement has aided us in looking at the multidimensional aspect of the subject.When an employee diagress with his boss, he most likely will scrutinize each data carefully and sometimes even produce some remarkable conclusions. Lincoln was against the slavery and eventually was successful in abolishing slavery from USA.Similarly, many discoveries in the field of science like the earth goes around the sun,that the earth is not flat, structure of atoms, periodic table,etc all were a result of the scientists disagreeing with the existing views.

Hence ,I believe that disagreements can actually being change for the good. Even if disagreement can sometimes cause stress but this limitation is obscured by its ability to turn the stress into something fruitful.A discourse is the foundation for human advances.Any one can score a goal if not guarded by a goal keeper but in the presence of goalkeeper only the greatest players can score a goal. Similarly, in unanimity, everything is dull and bland and the desire for progress is lacking however in the presence of disagreement ,people get intrigued and thrive to develop new ideas, new notions- all for the good.