The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Many people argue that the public could contribute to the prosperity of the society by questioning the government. Such a statement is plausible to some extent, but if people protest against the authority illegally, it may lead to riots, which will certainly affect people’s daily lives.

Admittedly, being gifted so much control over its people, the government ought to be regulated within its territory. Many governments will abuse the power, which is given by the public, to detriment people’s interests and rights. For example, the Soviet Union once put many intellectuals, who hold the opposite views against the authority, into jail or persecuted them until they promised to stop questioning government policies. As leaders of the Soviet Union have infinite power over its people and media, the crimes they committed were revealed only after the collapse of the Soviet Union. What they did would have been impeded if there’s a comprehensive rebellion mechanism, and thereby diminishing the damage they caused on people.

However, many people are unprofessional when they are challenging government policies. As we all know, almost all the policies are investigated and formed by experts in different areas. For example, an electricity regulation normally requires opinions from economists, ecologists, etc. It is impossible for many ordinary people to have sufficient knowledge to offer effective advices on professional areas. Thus, their protests towards the authority are sometimes ridiculous and meaningless, let alone have the ability to contribute to the well-being of the society.

In addition, if many people gather together to express their indignation to the government, it may result in some irrational behaviours. For example, Many protests will evolve into commotions in the end, thus leading to the loss of personal properties and even innocent lives. This kind of protests certainly have nothing to do with the well-being of the society, but developing the chaos of some places.

In sum, while it is true that government’s power should be limited, it is equally important that people need to acquire more knowledge and behave legally when challenging the authority. Otherwise, it may not achieve the expected results and even undermine the well-being of the society.