When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

we should replace old historical buildings with modern buildings , though some people think it will remove that historical importance of the place i still believe it would be better to use the place to build new and modular buildings instead of old ones , the reasons for the agreement are stated in the following paragraps.

Firstly, there are many safety issues when comes to old buildings as they have been there for a long time their structure might become weak which is a big safety concern for the people as it might fall any time . so we should instead demolish them and construct some new building which is strong and safe, for example we recently saw a museum collapsed in our city and a lot of people were hurt in that accident , to avoid these kind of accidents we need to avoid buildings that are way older and construct new ones which are safe.

Secondly, there is also an environmental benifit in destroying old buildings and build new ones , like if we were to construct a new building we need to find some place for that and that place need to be made by cutting some trees in that area ,so if we can reuse the space previously used for old and historical buildings we can prevent cutting of lot of trees which will be a advantage to environment. for example recently some part of nallamala forest which is one of the largest forest in India was flattened to make way for a new mall , so instead of this if they would have demolished some old buildings in some area which are not in use any more and use that to make the mall it would have saved a lot of trees.

thirdly, the energy consumptions of old buildings will also be more as they were build a long time ago and at that time there were very few energy saving machanisms in place, if we could make a new modular and energy efficient buildings instead of these old buildings it would reduce the energy consumption drastically , for example old buildings do not have a central air conditioning so we need to have the air conditioners for every room which will increase the energy consumption , if we can build a new building with buildin central air conditioning it will reduce the cost and energy consumed by the building.

However, if we replace old historical buildings with new ones the emotional and historical value associated with that building will be lost , like if a building has been in a place for a very long time(over a 1000 years) the people in that place will build a lot of emotional attachment with that building and if we try to replace that with a new modern building that value will be removed which may cause problems with the people.

All in all, there are both advantages and disadvantages with replacing of old buildings with new ones , but if we think in an economic and safety perseptive it would be better to replace old buildings as it will be safe , but on the contrary we will loose the emotional value associated with it.