Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

50. Government officials should rely on their own judgement rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Since the French revolution in 1789 and the prosperity of liberal democracy, there has been continuous discussion about to what extent the government officials should allow their personal judgement intervene public decision making. Some people argue that the government is purely a representative of the public, and thus should unconditionally carry out the will of their servants. While others claim that government officials have the responsibility to critically examine public decisions based on their own judgement. This essay is going to argue that, to a large extent, government officials should not rely on their own judgement, because personal judgement can be biased, and this stimulates corruption and malfeasance.

Admittedly, there exist circumstances when carrying out public opinions based on majority vote can be suboptimal. One well-known dilemma is the so called ‘tyranny of the majority’. There are scenarios when the will of the majority group indeed violates the right of the minority, the disapproval of homesexual marriage, for instance. In this case, it is crucial that relevant government officials should use their judgement to protect the minority group, otherwise simply carrying out the will of the majority would result in the minority group being neglected and under-represented. Therefore, the recommendation seems appropriate in this scenario. However, this is among the tiny amount of situations when personal judgement of government officials is recommended, and at most of the times, individual judgement has far more disadvantages compared with public wills, reasons are provided in the following two paragraphs.

The first reason is that it is inevitable for individuals to be biased, whereas the public will can be considered as a mixture of various biasedness, and therefore is relatively neutral. This personal bias is well-demonstrated by the tax legislation. It is apparent that affluent people ask for lower tax rate in order for themselves to keep a large proportion of their income, whereas needy people, especially those whose income does not reach the lowest tax line, rely on taxes to obtain social welfare, and thus it is natural for them to advocate heavy taxes. In this case, if the government officials were allowed to judge based on their own considerations, they are probably more likely to accept lower tax rates, as their incomes are not so bad. However, in

doing this, they largely ignores power class people whose lives might be significantly deteriorated by the policy. Alternatively, those officials who desperately need votes might deliberately increase tax rate to please poor people. Yet that might depress the regional economic development, since capitalists are less motivated to make profits. Therefore, in this circumstance, government officials who put their personal judgement into policy making would act in an imprudent way, which can significantly harm the society.

The second reason that carrying out public will is advantageous is due to its prevention of corruption and malfeasance. Most of the corruption happens when companies and government officials agree to interchange power and money. However, if those officials are not allowed to intervene in policy making procedures, their power are seriously confined, and thus there will be far less company willing to bribe them. In this way, although unquestioningly carrying out public wills might sounds cumbersome, it in effect helps restrict corruption.

To conclude, this essay has argued that, to a large extent, government officials should unquestioningly carry out public wills and should not let their own judgement affect their decisions. Because, apart from some very specific circumstances, the potential biases of personal judgement and the risk of corruption makes public rule superior to elite judge. Further studies could be conducted on possible ways to restrict the cons of public rule, for example, ways to avoid the tyranny of the majority.