Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Claim: the best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: heroes and role models reveal a society’s highest ideals

There has long been a huge controversy of the best way to understand the characters of a society. One of the strong proposals, among all the others, is that heroes and role models can be the best representation of a society since they reveal its highest ideals. This essay is going to argue that this particular methodology to investigate a society is misleading, because even though social ideals can be exposed from heroes and role models, these ideals should not be viewed as representative for the characters of the whole society.

Admittedly, the reasoning that people can hope to taste the ideals of a society from heroes and role models seems plausible. That is due to the nature of heroes being made and recognised. There are two reasons that a society wants to make people heroes or role models. The first one is that those people achieve something so marvelous and splendid or a certain aspect of their personalities is so shining that citizens automatically recognise them as models. Alternatively, it might originate from people’s desire to encourage a specific ideal behaviour, and therefore people who behave in that way would be artificially made as heroes. Either way, heroes and role models reveal people’s ideal characters, and it is possible to observe social ideals from them.

However, the connection between the reason and the claim is far from valid, because it confounds a society’s characters with its ideals. On the contrary, there are frequently some deviations from ideals and realisations. This is well-demonstrated by the striking comparison between socialist and capitalist. The ideal world of a communist society suggest that people are all unselfish and willing to share everything with their comrades, but the current reality, the dominant character of the society, is that people still have to rely on ‘the invisible hand’ to boost economies, as Adam Smith argued. Therefore, even if social ideals can be revealed by heroes and role models, it is unlikely that those ideals can summarise the society’s main character, when can be considerably different from, or even opposite to, the ideals.

Moreover, the claim itself is, to a large extent, ill-formatted. It is apparent that heroes and role models are only a tiny amount of the population. No matter how famous, how superior, or how high their leverages are, they can hardly be representative in any scenarios. In order to summarise a society’s dominant characteristics, it makes intuitive sense to look for the vast

majority of the population, which is simply just those normal people. And this is indeed the common approach people embrace when analysing the characteristics of a society. For instance, when assessing the Egyptian society, scholars typically conclude that religious beliefs, i.e., the Muslim religion, dominates and characterises various realm of Eygpt, including economics, politics, and cultures. However, the current president, who should obviously be regarded as a role model in the Eygptian society, is secular and has openly discouraged religious practices. With this respect, it should be plausible that people should not look the president for Eygptian social characters, and conclusion would be seriously misleading. By contrast, those normal Egyptians should be the correct people to concentrate on, because they represent the reality of the current status of the society.

To conclude, this essay has argued that although the reason sounds convincing, it does not necessarily lead to the claim, and the claim is in effect infeasible. Explicitly, even though it is true that heroes and role models reveal the social ideals, those ideals are far from reality and thus should not be used to summarise a society’s characters. Alternatively, people should look for normal people to investigate a society’s main characters. Further studies could be conducted on how heroes and normal people interact within a society and what influence they can make to the society’s characteristics. Only if the right objects are found can researchers successfully summarise a society’s dominating characters.