Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

The above statement emphasizes on the imporatnce of long-term, realisitic goals in one's life over short-term goals. It is true that most of young people are whimisical and capricious and they might forget their long term goals by immidiate fame and recognition. However, the statement is unfairly generalized and it completely neglects the importance of short term achievements. I strongly disagree with the above statement because of the following three reasons.

First of all, long-term goals are impossible to persue over a month or two: one has to work every day to accomplish their long-term goals for a very long time. Nevrtheless, it is difficult for young people to work constantly on their long-term goals without motivation and joy of wroking. This motivation and joy comes from the achievement of short-term goals such as winning a competition at schools or getting good score in the test. The motivation gained from short-term victories help a person to keep working on their selves for achieving long-term goals. One feels more confident on their selves after achieving short-term goals and they might feel their long-term goal more realistic after these immidiate victories.

Secondly, if a person wants to achieve a long-term goal, he or she must divide the goal into many short-term goals. For example, if a student wishes to score good marks during the final examination, they must divide their goal into every day short-term goals and they have to work on these short-term goals through out the year. They must achieve their every day short-term goals such as completeing homework, reading what their teacher has taught on that day, etcetera. and these achivements of short-term goals will lead them to score good during the final examination.

Thirdly, working on short-term goals prepares oneself for victories as well as failures. If one fails achieving their immidiate goal then they learn how to accept a failure and how to keep going with their lives. on the other hand, if one gets success in their short-term goal, it teaches them how to manage their victory and how to start working on their next goal. If a person was just working on their long-term goal and fails to achieve it then a possibility is that they might loose their confidence about their selves. Hence, immidiate goals are also as much important as long-term realistic goals.

Therefore, it is imporatatn for young people to set long-term, realistic goals and they should not forget about thier long-term goals over immediate fame and victories. However, it is also important for oneself to work on their short-term goals for gaining more confidence about their selves, for gaining motivation, and to learn how to accept success and failure. In conclusion, achievement of short-term goals are as much as important as that of the long-term and pragmatic goals in one's life.