Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Every person in society tries to gain some sort of respect or fame whether they are lauded for small or colossal achievements. Every person needs recognition to check if they are heading in the correct direction. If a person gets approbation for any work, then the person will be encouraged to do more great works in life. Thus, recognition, being small or big, is crucial for one's growth.

However, there are many difficulties when we think about achieving long-term goals. If a 12-year-old student thinks to get a 40 lakh per annum job in a well-established company, he might achieve it. However, the complications & unprecedented changes that the student needs to face would be immense. It's possible that the student's family is suffering from penury and do not have enough money to provide proper education to the student which might act as a catalyst for hindrance. Moreover, if the student is completely focused on his long-term goal and eschewing the little happiness that he received from small achievements, then it might be possible that at some point in his life he might get hunted by depression. If he is not getting enough praise to make him encouraged, then he will think less of himself and slowly he will lose self-confidence, and therefore it is necessary to keep getting applauded frequently.

People who are focused on short-term goals rather than long-term praise are susceptible to accepting the loss. Because these people have got enough praise in their life doing small things, they are used to accepting defeat. If they are defeated, they stand up and move on quickly. While, those who are keeping eye on long-term goals, and not caring about small achievements, will get most negatively impacted when they concede their defeat in their lives. Because these people haven't been applauded for a long time, they will be expecting a much higher appreciation and recognition, and if they failed to achieve it, they will be anything but happy.

While it's plausible to have a long-term goal in life, short-term achievements should not be obviated. It's better to have a series of short-term goals which unite into one long-term goal. This will help a person to stay optimistic and productive. Even if the person fails to achieve some goals, the person will be depressed for a shorter time. Once the person bypasses that period, he will stand up and start to focus on the next goal and ultimately stay sharp on his long-term success.

From the aforementioned points discuss, one should give importance to both short-term fame and recognition and to keep on track to achieve the long-term goals. It's not wise to neglect any of the two categories as both are equally important in one life. It helps the person not to lose focus in life.