In the Bayhead Public Library, books that are rarely borrowed continue to take up shelf space year after year, while people who want to read a recent novel frequently find that the library’s only copy is checked out. Clearly, the library’s plan to replace books that are borrowed no more than once a year with sufficient copies of more recent books will solve this problem. The protest we have heard since this plan was made public has come from a small, and thus unrepresentative, group of some thirty people and so should therefore be ignored.

The argument presented by the author in the snippet mentions that the books which are rarely borrowed are consuming more of the library's shelves than the recently more bought novels. So to solve this problem the author suggested removing the old books and introduce frequently bought novels. But, due to this, there were a small group of protesters still demanding the old ones, however, the author tries to ignore this as the group was too small in number. But, while the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following points must be addressed.

Firstly, the author has completely disregarded the group members who were protesting for the demands to retrieve the old books. To satisfy the needs of customers, one should keep in mind to fulfill their needs, irrespective of difficulties one is facing. Perhaps, the author could have made a separate shelf for the old books that were consuming a lot of space. This would have helped the author to get his customers engaged and not to lose them.

Secondly, the author has completely forgotten the possibility of rearranging the shelf. It might be fruitful for the customers if the shelves could be rearranged year-wise in descending order. This will not only help the customers who buy recent novels but also for the customers who buy the old books. This might help them to ease their search for a specific book.

Furthermore, maybe the author might think about the possibility to introduce the concept of e-books. It could be possible that the library at present is low on funds and so could not afford the involvement of new shelves. However, the idea of replacing the less-issued books with frequently bought books could be canceled by introducing e-books. The author could include the e-books for those books that are issued in less amount.

To summarise, the author has provided pieces of evidence to bolster his argument, however, if he might have taken the above-mentioned points into account, the protest by the people might be stopped.