Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to be a member of a group than to be the leader of a group. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Leadership is a vital role in a community or a group. It is considered as the most respectable position in the society. In some circumstances, it is fair to be an active participant than to lead the team but in other situations, it is vice versa. In my perspective, I assert that both being a leader and a member of a group is equally valuable in certain environments.

On one side of the argument, I state that leadership is the best quality that is highly beneficial to direct people in the right direction. Moreover, I feel that it is an art of coming forward and taking responsibility to favour the people and guide them for the benefit of the group. I would like to mention the example of the first minister of Scotland Mrs. Nicola Sturgeon. When she was the member of Scottish parliament, the Scottish government failed to pass the Scottish Independence referendum, then she took over the leadership of the government as the first minister and now strengthened the independence referendum into a stronger possible one in the near future.

Nevertheless, on other side of the argument, I feel that being an ordinary member of a team could enable to actively contribute to the group. In addition, the individual member could feel lesser pressure and burden, and, hence it enhances them to work effectively and efficiently. Therefore, they could provide game challenging opinions to the group leader, thus the whole group could benefit out of it. For instance, Mr. Sundar Pitchai, CEO of Google Incorporation, initially worked as an ordinary employee and helped Google Inc. to lead the technology among other leading firms. Today that organisation has honoured him by making him to lead Google Inc.

In conclusion, after coxing and boxing of the issue, positions of the member as well as the leader of the group are well balanced in different scenarios. Therefore, in my opinion, whatever the position in which we contribute to the group, it is highly valuable and respectable in a group.