It is suggested that people should search for energy and natural resources in distant and inhospitable areas to cater to the growing need for oil and gas. This essay believes that the benefits of exploiting remote places do not outweigh the drawbacks simply because the environment itself is far more important than human desire.

The main reason to extract oil and gas from untouched places is that most easily accessible sources of oil and gas have already been developed. This means human are draining the earth and will probably never be satisfied. Meanwhile, the main disadvantage is that extracting these sources can result in permanent damage to the environment, which can be devastating to the wildlife and human who depend on these ecosystems. Another negative view is that we cannot rule out the possibility of tragedies like oil spills, pipeline leaks and even shipping accidents. These contaminants pose a serious threat to the sensitive species and habitats since tons of harmful pollutants will be released in the air and all the toxic chemicals will be discharged into the water, which in turn, will undoubtedly bring severe punishment to human themselves.

Those opposed to this say that remote places shall be benefited with boost economy and more job opportunities. However, this standpoint can be seen in an opposite way. With large-scale infrastructures being constructed as well as more roads and buildings being built for workers, the biodiversity and ecosystem are surely at greater risk.

In conclusion, the advantages of exploiting distant places are overshadowed by the drawbacks. It is not sensible also morally flawed to stake our environment for progress, let alone to fulfill our own needs.