It is better for boys and girls to study separately rather than study in mixed sex classes. They are less distracted and this leads to better results.

Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

No one would deny that school teenagers generally start to have an interest in their opposite gender. Regarding this, it could be believed that students of single sex schools are less likely to be disturbed and have better outcomes. However, I disagree with this view because mixed gender schools have advantages for students in the long run.

On the one hand, the opposite gender educational environment can provide students with insights and experiences. Undoubtedly, students who attend co-sex schools can possess better opportunities to deal with various people than those in merely single gender schools. According to a lot of studies, the majority of male artists have found their hidden artistic talent when they attended mixed gender classes, and also found it easier to express their interest freely. Moreover, mixed classes offer chances to look into the strengths and weaknesses of opposite gender. Through this kind of class, students would gain in-depth insights.

In addition, studying together regardless of gender would be far more beneficial for children’s future. It is true that our society is the place where both gender get along with and collaborate each other for positive outcomes. For instance, an individual graduated from a mixed gender school has built friendlier atmosphere in social clubs or at work, compared to one from a single sex school. As they have spent years within a mixed gender environment, it is no longer difficult to form a supportive relationship with opposite gender colleagues. Hence, mixed gender schools have a huge role in helping the young to familiarise with opposite sex, which benefits the life ahead of them.

To recapitulate, studying with different gender can be seen as a distraction of learner’s study. Nevertheless, I disagree because this to be a very short sighted view. By educating boys and girls in one place, they can have more insights and valuable experiences, allowing them to adapt to the mixed gender society.