It is generally accepted that families are not as as close as they used to be. Give some reasons why this change has happened and suggest how families could be brought closer together.

In the last decade, the closeness among different families has significantly decreased the world over. While some opine that this is due to current global economic scenario, others think that change in attitude of people is the main cause. This essay is an attempt to examine the causes of such separation and suggest suitable ways to bring them closer together.

One of the main causes that present families are not close as before because there is no time for them to catch up each other. Since aggressive materialism and global competition are realities, both parents have to work full-time which end up in having less leisure time. This small amount time is insufficient not only for interaction but also to understand each family. For example, full-time tax -payers have little to no time being spent to look after their children. In such busy schedule, they find it hard to mix up with other families, thereby reduces the intimacy among families.

However, there are linear solutions available for such causes. As the unemployment rate increases, it is better to reduce working week for every individual. Typically, in India, people work 6 days a week, and if these are reduced to 4 days, then it excessively reduces the unemployment problem. At the same time, it acts as a precursor for having free time. As a result, individuals find themselves more time to make effective communication. Thus, the intimacy among families in the society would probably grow up.

At the end of the day, family relationship is important for any country. So the public authority should identify all causes for the reduction in closeness. Then, it must implement appropriate strategies to increase the closeness among citizens.