It is possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environments, such as South Pole, do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantage?

As remote natural places are expected to abound in variety of beautiful natural landscapes and resources, there is an upward tendency that both scientists and tourists become interested in going into such sites. At some level, I still believe in this development to do more good than harm.

First, natural resources are important for sustaining life and providing many everyday conveniences. Any kind of resources, from oil to copper, are getting scarcer in recent decades as the rapidly developing economies require more. Hence, scientists started getting more commitment on alternative energy sources from distant regions where are rich in all sorts of mineral resources. For instance, South Pole is known as the container of huge coal and gas reserve. As a result, local resources can be exploited to cater for the use for all human beings and solve some extreme resources urgency in the globe.

Furthermore, many remote places’ economies are highly reliant on the travel and tourism industry. Tourists traveling around these places may increase tourism and travel industry development, and also add jobs and contribute to an area’s economy. Additionally, “culture” is one of the chief consumables of tourism, and experiencing unusual cultures can be educational for the visitor and highly profitable for the community.

However, it should be noticed that the more people get into the distant unspoiled places, the more problems may be caused. For example, local ecosystems and environments can be affected by over exploited and land-based resort activities. With the travel decreasing due to fluctuations in the global economy, fewer people spend money on travel, leading to local recession in the places rely on tourism. Moreover, each area tries to maintain its own distinct history and culture. When these cultures come into contact with the strong forces of globalization, maintaining traditional local culture often becomes quite difficult.

To conclude, I approve of that scientists and tourists visiting remote natural areas can help tap potential natural resources and ensure more people have the chances to appreciate the beautiful scenes, only if they could travel responsibly and conserve the environment and improve the well-being of local people.