A lot of developing countries rely on tourism to boost the economy.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism to the local area?

The prevalence of depending on tourism to raise the economy in many nations has been a growing concern in the past few years. This situation has surely carried along with it both advantages and disadvantages and this essay aims to highlight both.

A very common gain of tourism to the local area is to publicize local cultures such as traditional custom and cuisine, attracting foreign investment as well as pushing the country higher in international views. Another valuable result of this is to help decrease local pollution by focusing on tourism instead of industry full of poison and emission, that is why people call tourism the “non-smog industry”. As evidence of this, Da Nang – a beautiful city of Viet Nam, has got the high place in foreigners’ eyes because of tour services, clean atmosphere and special foods and brought a huge of profit for its own city as well as Vietnam thanks to tourism.

Regardless of these advantages, one negative outcome that needs to be addressed is the imbalance of trade due to attach special importance to the travel industry, which means difficulty to find a job for people who do not wish to work in travel and causing unbalanced in comprehensive economy. Another threat worth preparing for is that travelers can take advantage of the local people for their bad activities, such as spreading some damaged habit or destroying the traditions. A good case in point would be the citizens in Sapa, a province of Vietnam, who can not do anything but sell souvenirs for travelers and many local girls were abused by foreigners.

In conclusion, it is clear that while this development has ensured several necessary changes, it has also made society vulnerable to some unpleasant ones.