Many people believe that companies and individuals should pay to clean up the environment in proportion to the amount of pollution they have produced. Do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion and examples.

In the current world, environment has been deteriorating due to pollutions caused by human activities. Due to this fact, some people argue that businesses and individuals should be responsible for this issue, while others argue that it is unnecessary for society to spend their fund in managing the pollution. In my personal opinion, I disagree that business and individuals should incur the cost to manage the pollution.

Firstly, businesses as the major contributors to the pollution are more likely to be able to keep track on their pollution level compare to individuals. A company usually consists of multiple departments in it, from management, finance, human resource and so on, hence it should not be difficult for the company to add a department specialised in managing the pollution. Whereas individuals are very unlikely to hire a specialist, thus the cost for the pollution will be less accurate.

Secondly, by incurring most of the expenses to businesses, companies should be able to include this cost for managing pollution to the cost of sales of their products or services. For example, production of steel requires $5000 to manage all of its wastes, this expense then can be distributed evenly to every steels produced. Therefore, overall the general public are also contributing to the pollutions management by paying higher price for the product.

In conclusion, businesses should be responsible in managing the pollution rather than individuals. Companies have the capacity to hire extras employees to focus on pollution management. Furthermore, by incurring all of the costs to businesses, at the end individuals are paying the expenses indirectly through higher price of products and services.