Many people believe that companies and individuals should pay to clean up the environment in proportion to the amount of pollution they have produced. Do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion and examples.

Growing population and economy have been negatively impacting the environment and risk in creating irreversible damage and pollution. Many believe that those who contributed to the pollution such as companies or individuals should be responsible to pay for the cost of cleaning. However, I strongly do not agree with this due to several reasons.

Firstly, everyone has to understand that we share the role to keep the environment pollution free together. Any single action done by an individual can cause a huge impact to the environment. With the increase of deforestation for economy purposes, the amount of oxygen decreases as plants could not perform photosynthesis fast enough to convert carbon dioxide to oxygen. As the consequences, air pollution increases affecting the human health and animal population. The overall lifecycle is affected as mother nature and humans interdependent to survive.

Secondly, the lack of government enforcement highly contributed to the amount of pollution happening. Government should review their current policy and identify the root cause of the pollution. With the lack of enforcement, general public and enterprises are free to do as they wish without abiding the rules and regulation of the respective countries. For instance, survey done by World Health Organization in Asia Pacific showed that 80% of the population are actually aware of the rules and regulations but choose to ignore as there has been no action from government. It is the government responsibility to educate the public on the importance of protecting the environment that they live in.

In conclusion, the responsibility to clean up the environment lies on everyone and not only on companies and individuals that caused it. It is unfair when humans make the damage to the environment and mother natures have to bare the irreversible consequences. Therefore, it is crucial for everyone to have similar aim and vision to keep the environment clean.