More working people are busy with work and have no enough time to spend with their family and friends. Why does this happen? What are the effects on family life and society?

There has been a growing trend that working people are too busy to spend time with their family and friends. The reasons and effects of this phenomenon are of great concern for many people.

There are numbers of factors contributing to this trend. Firstly, the career success seems to be the first priority in people’s lives. As the sense of achievement can be gained from a promotion or a salary raise, employees are prone to spend as much time as they can for an outstanding job performance, thereby scarifying the moment of having dinners with their families and friends. Secondly, it appears that the workload has significantly increased by demanding bosses or supervisors. In order to satisfy ones’ employer, people have no choices but sparing no effort on the work. For example, some employees continue to work on the business rather than socialising with others because of the great pressure they are bearing.

This situation brings detrimental effects on both family and society. To start with, the lack of communication between family members can be considered as the main trigger of internal conflicts. If the youths constantly miss the family gatherings or dinners, some family members, especially the elderly may have the feeling of loneliness and feel like invisible, thereby causing quarrels and disagreement. Besides that, those who are absent from social activities will not be a good civilian. Although hard-working is encouraged during the business time for all working people, employees have no social skills or interpersonal skills will eventually not be able to keep up with the rapid social development as they may have troubles getting along with others or expressing their thoughts, therefore, they are not qualified to contribute to the society.

To sum up, it is not a positive development if people do not have sufficient time to socialise. I will recommend all workers to balance their jobs and social activities to maintain a healthy lifestyle.