In most countries, young people form a large proportion of those who are unemployed. Why this is the case? And what can be done to solve the problem?

Unemployed youth were virtually unheard of just 50 years ago. While there is a widely heard perception in many parts of the world that young people form the majority of the unoccupied dwellers. This has brought many dire consequences such as the increase in the rate of crime in society. In this essay, I aim to explore the root causes of this problem and the viable measures to it.

Chief among the root causes of this problem would be no comprehensiveness in educational system of today. Rather than teaching all aspects of the majors, almost all academic departments prefer to concentrate on theories instead of practice. Consequently, when entering the job market, they could not find any respective job, on the grounds that no employer would trust the inexperienced staff with even any practical skill. In order to address this, universities should redefine their course curriculum with the aim of adding more respectively job skills.

Another major contributing factor would be the overpopulation in cities. By the risen of modern life and facilities alike in cities, the great number of people from country side have fascinated to migrate to urban areas. As a result, cities have faced overpopulation and the available job opportunities could not meet the great amount of demand. If more facilities are provided in rural areas by the government, fewer people would dabble in abandoning their country life and admittedly the job vacancies would remain for the young dweller in cities.

In reality, of course, it is a vast oversimplification of the issue. Nonetheless, I believe that the above-mentioned measures would constitute as a good first step.