Most of the schools send the students for work without pay as a part of their course for certain time in some industries or companies. Do students get more advantages of it or the organizations?

It is an undeniable fact that students get more benefits and learn various skills after working for certain time without pay in an organization. However, some argue that it is not a good idea to work without pay. But I believe there are a lot of advantages of it which I will be discussing in this essay below.

To begin with, Students gain confidence and a lot of knowledge spending certain time in an organisation. As we know that schools only focus on theory classes rather than practical work but volunteer work in a company makes you perfect to work in professional working environment. For instance, one of my friends has recently completed his placement as a part of a course and he told me that it is very important and informative as he got an opportunity to learn various skills such as time management, organisational, etc.

Further emphasizing my point of view, students will be able to learn about the professional work culture, norms and values of the organisation and workplace ethics. In the same way, they are able to understand team work and importance of communication in professional working environment to accomplish a task effectively. Further, pupils will be able to learn different technical skills including latest business oriented software.

On the other side of the fence, there are some pitfalls of working without any pay as students might think that they are spending their valuable time without any benefits. They might think that it is nothing but just waste of time and if they utilise this time in some other work they might make some money to run their livelihood.

To recapitulate, I think schools should make volunteer work compulsory as a part of a course so that students get a lot of benefits of it. Pupils should be made aware of the importance of such unpaid work and they should be encouraged to participate in such task. And concerned authorities should pay a close attention to such unpaid work so that students will gain real work environment experience in professional working life.