In most universities students focus on specialized subjects, however some people believe that universities should encourage students to study a wide spectrum of subjects. To what extent you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

Tertiary education has been a core necessity in individuals and with the competitive society we live in, everyone is chasing to learn as much as possible. With specialized courses for each bachelor degree, students are restricted to only learn their own field. On the other hand, there is argument that universities should explore into wider range of subjects for their students. In my opinion, there are strong evidence that students able to study other subjects can strongly benefit them in the future.

First and foremost, students are able to gain a balance of general knowledge which would greatly play as an advantage in their later work life. In the current work life, bosses do not only required their worker to know their job scope but also be able to adapt into other roles to assist when necessary. Therefore, individuals studying other expertise will have higher chances to be able to achieve and multitask. Interviews were done by HR International in Aug 2014 showed that 80% of business owner would prefer to hire individuals with vast knowledge on other subjects besides their own expertise.

Secondly, students will increase their chances in landing with job with their wide knowledge. Nowadays, the unemployment rate in many countries are increasing putting students in risk of getting a job after they graduate. Many were not able to land a job in their own field and were forced to explore into other industries to earn for a living. Survey was done by Curtin University and the results was shocking showing 98% of students were currently working in area out of their degrees' scope. Thus, having knowledge on other field is definitely an advantage for individuals.

In conclusion, universities should encourage students to learn and absorb other resources besides focusing on their own chosen field. This can provide the students with a secure alternative as what we study does not always end up to be what we will practice later in our career life.