The main purpose of public libraries should be to provide books. Public libraries should not spend their limited resources on computer software, videos or DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The main purpose of public libraries were to give access of books to communities and should not look into having technological items such as computer softwares, videos or DVDs in libraries due to limited support. However, I disagree with the public libraries focusing on only providing hardcopy books as technological items can also provide useful information to the community.

There are manifold points to shore up my views. First and foremost, the advancement of technology today has been a norm and necessity for our society. The use of computer and other gadgets has highly been promoted to ease our daily routine especially for students and teenagers. For examples, study by Acer International showed that 95% of college students owns a computer and uses it for basic research for their assignment and thesis. It simplify the search of information and resources for the students rather than going thru hardcopy books which in turn utilizes a huge amount of time. The search can be done with a click of a button and access thru the world wide web.

Besides that, the establishment of libraries are to provide knowledge and resources for local communities. Having easier access can encourage and help train people on the use of technology for some that is unable to afford this luxury. By doing this, equal basic knowledge of use is easily accessible by all levels. For instances, public libraries in Australia provide access to computer, music album and DVDs for public to have proof to be a great success to train elderly in computer knowledge such as basic access to news and journals online. Furthermore, multifarious original music albums and DVDs available for loan indirectly also benefits the local music and filming industry to reduce piracy videos and illegal downloads.

In conclusion, public libraries need to work to provide accessibility to communities as technological gadgets has now become a norm which we cannot live without.