Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways technology affected the relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Because of the advancement of the technology globally, there has been significant change in the way of interaction. It has also been felt worldwide that relationships between people have been affected in several ways. This results in immense positive development with some negative effects which shall be discussed in the following paragraphs.

One of the positive effects is that due to the advent of internet, people has great opportunity to interact with other people more conveniently. For example, by using social networking sites such as facebook, twitter etc people can keep in touch with anyone. In contrast, in the past the only possible methods were through letter or phone and these methods were used only occasionally. As a result, only the nearest family members or close friends were keep in touch with each other. But nowadays, thank to the advanced technology, anyone of your contact circle could be contacted in no time.

Another positive outcome of the advanced technology is that relationship among people has been strengthened due to the frequent contact with each other. It is an undeniable fact that relation will get weaker if the contact is lessened. But nowadays, this is no more the case because everyone has a cellular phone which can even be afforded by low income people and most of the people could be contacted more often with each other through the mobile phone.

On the other hand, its negative effect can not be neglected too. For instance, nowadays children spend a lot of time in front of computer playing games and surfing internet for unnecessary things resulting in lacking the required interpersonal skills. However, this effect could be nullified with the proper supervision by parents. Another disadvantage generally pointed out is that people avoid face to face communication as other ways of communication are available due to advanced technology. Due to this it is often argued that natural relationship among people is in jeopardize state. Nevertheless, by encompassing face to face communication regularly with other ways of communication, this effect could be greatly reduced.

To put in a nutshell, advanced technology has both positive and negative effects in the relationship. However, by proper utilization of technology, the negative outcomes could be reduced immensely.