PARENTS ENTER THEIR CHILDREN IN BOARDING SCHOOL

Boarding school is a school where students must live in a dormitory, but female and male students will be segregated. The type of this school teaches students not only general subjects but also Islamic subjects. In Indonesia, the type of this school has existed for half century and the number of this school is not as many as general schools. There is ongoing debate about whether parents should not enter or send their children to study in boarding school. This essay sets out to discuss that boarding school may have some drawbacks. However, boarding school is indeed more beneficial than harmful.

It has been claimed that Boarding school has some detrimental effects on students. They may miss out emotional bonding with their parents due to living in the dormitory for long time. Another point made by opponents is students will love each other in the same gender. It is because both female and male students do not study in the same boarding school. Moreover, students will be tortured if they do not obey the rules of boarding school. Consequently, the psychology of them will probably be disturbed.

However, there are still many benefits of sending students to study in boarding school rather than its drawbacks. After living in the dormitory, the students will not be spoiled children. They will learn how to survive independently without the existence of their parents. Similarly, the discipline of students will be shaped because there is a set of routine program for every single day. The students will directly learn time management in boarding school. Lastly, the atmosphere of boarding school is quite enough so that the students will be easy to study without a disturbance.

Furthermore, as a result of entering students in Islamic boarding school, they are able to deepen their Islamic lesson. They will specifically study hadiths, fiqih, tassawuf, history of prophet and his comrades, exceptional scholars of Islam, and Arabic language. At the same time, by studying Islamic tenets in boarding school vigorously and comprehensively, students can be a famous ulama of Indonesia, for instance KH. Zaenuddin MZ and Yusuf Mansyur.

In conclusion, sending students to boarding schools has benefits and drawbacks generally. However, after analyzing both sides, the advantages of boarding school outweigh its demerits. Thus, parents should not be worried if their children will enter to boarding schools.