People nowadays live longer than they used to. What caused this situation? Is it a negative or positive development?

It is irrefutable fact that advancement in technology has played a significant role to save peoples’ life relatively longer than the past few decades. However, life span of people varies from country to country. . I believe that there are both pros and cons of this situation. Although, there are several possible reasons behind this but some of them will be discussed in this essay.

To begin with, living longer has been a boon for the human being in this modern society and I believe one of the prime causes is advancement in medical system. A new innovation and finding of drugs to combat with the life threatening disease has played a vital role to linger the human lives. For instance, diseases like tuberculosis; HIV aids etc, are curable and can be prevented effectively these days.

In addition, perhaps, another reason would be awareness in opting the healthy and nutritious food for their everyday meals. Now a day, people are very cautious and they never delay to take advice from doctors or dietician in regards to foods consequently, which leads them to keep the potential health problem away and lift up their age.

On the other hand, although it’s a positive development but there are some pitfalls in these improvements. I believe, unemployment rate will be upsurged and there will be scarcity of jobs in the market. This situation may lead a person to be a prey of mental health problems such as depression, anxiety and frustration etc. In the same way it could encourage people to involve in illegal activities.

To conclude, I think it is a positive devolvement as we human being will be able to enjoy our lives without any hurdles with our love ones and spend a quality of life with a great dignity.