People nowadays live longer than they used to. What caused this situation? is it a negative or positive development?

Since the ancient time, humans had been battling with diseases. However, the recent breakthrough in technology and medicine have enabled us to outwit the nature and live a long and better life. In my opinion, this has positive effects on both our society and families.

There are various reasons that caused human to live longer, the most obvious one is that medical technology has become so advanced that almost all diseases can be cured. It is acknowledged that diseases are the main reason why people die early. without a cure, even a small disease can develop into a big one that make patients suffer and eventually kill them. The latest medical equipment can detect all kinds of diseases early on and start treatment before the patients' condition deteriorate even further.

With more advanced medical facilities comes more completed medical insurance system. People regardless of their social status and finacial state can be garuentted to receive medical treatment if they got diseases with no extra fee paid.

The increase in people's life expectancy has a profound influence on our society. First, the human civilisation can be developed into a whole new level. The longer and healthier a person can live, the more knowledge and power he can acquire to benefit the society. This means there will be more great thinkers and scientists to contribute to human civilisation. Second, longer life brings families more happiness. more grandfathers will be able to see their grandsons, and there will be less children growing up with only one parent.

To sum up, the constant stuggle and innovation by our ancestors bring about the medical advancement we see today, and this has benefited not only us, but our future generations for years to come.