A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the judgment of person’s value and status has changed in the modern world. Material possessions and power are considered to discriminate people which replace all traditional value of a person such generous and trust. The importance of being a rewarding person is not accept to be an honor anymore since people have changed to focus on materials and prosperity of a person. Personally, I agree with this statement for a number of reasons.

According to most people always judge with prosperity, success and social status instead of focusing on the main value of people such as personality or characteristic. A person who has a handsome salary or living in a luxury house always has higher value than poorer people. No one really care about a poor who work hard, dedicated and generous unlike affluent people. All of these points support that the value of a person have changed to materialistic ideal and expensive possessions.

For instance, in a work place, the competition of co-workers demolishes good relationship of people and develops all bad behaviors instead. Most people in an office always jealous, selfish and compete each other to a higher promotion. Some higher managers, always compete others and try to do even immoral things to keep their positions or get a rewarding promotion. Consequently, some people who are in a higher position always use their power in appropriately way because people respect their power and social status. This is an example in a competitive workplace that a public respect to a person’s value in a wrong way and do not care in a real worth such behaviors or personalities.

Moreover, most people tend to make friends with only attractive people such as wealthy or good looking people because they also want to be attractive or get some benefits. People do not care the feeling of love and trustful from friends which is an important thing of friendship.

In conclusion, we need to reconsider the value of an individual in our society. If we can change our outlook to be more concerned about real worth such as a person’s personalities and behaviors rather than material status, we will live in an environment with all generous people around.