Some countries achieve international success, building specialised sports facilities for top athletes to train, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Positive or negative?

Countries worldwide compete in constructing iconic buildings to win the privilege of holding global sport event. This is chiefly due to the fact that these unique buildings uplift the image and economy of these nations. Unfortunately, in some cases, they may prove to be more of a plague than boon.

To start with, countries that are constructing an international level of sporting stadium enable the host nation to boost its economy and market capabilities and culture across the globe. In this manner, China demonstrated its exemplary skills, financial power and deep cultural heritage to the world through its flawless performances and solid engineering techniques by producing a world class Olympic stadium, so called “A Nest,” of the 2008 Beijing Olympic Game. Simultaneously, all the athletes participate and facilitate this building to train and compete in national level competitions, in turn, growth and encourage public to play sports. Thus, crowds of sports fanatics enter the stadium, which contributed to its steady increasing of revenue; hence, despite all the efforts and expenses involved in construction, the benefits reaped can be multi-fold. As result, become one of the strongest sports nations in the world.

On the other hand, the aftermath of these sports gigantic stadiums have occasionally proved to be disastrous to some of the countries. National budget in international level of building can be burden rather providing multiple local facilities for general recreation, it is sometimes pushed too far by only considered the interest of professionals. In additional, they are compelled to disburse a higher amount of funds. Thus, the Olympic Game of 2004 gas been partly blamed for Greece’s current financial deficit. This situation occurred because the one-off expenses incurred were not recouped in subsequent years as sport facilities constructed fell into a state abandon, as public suffer from the unsuccessful sports achievement.

To conclude, planning and running to build an international level stadium is generally advantageous to the country. The long-term effects brought by these structures, however, compete in international recognition it is easy not to overlook at the financial difficulties confront by the country.