In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

The first group of experts claim that the young need at least one year between graduating from secondary school and beginning the university for gaining work experience, travelling or other special purposes such as learning foreign language. By contrast, another group argue that this can lead to wasting of useful time and damaging of the career of people. So, who is right-opponents or supporters?

Initially, in high school pupils cannot get sufficient information and experience about conditions of living and the world, but because before starting the next stage of education a young person finds a chance by visiting to abroad or working, that”s why, they are given an opportunity for broadening their minds. When they make a decision parents and friends of the young should play a crucial and active role in their lives and support them, however, their opinions may be different. Furthermore, governments should develop their policies for this problem, for instance, it could be formed funds which are based on helping citizens who want to get special qualifications at their future fields before going to academic institutions.

Yet there is another side to the picture. The young who find a job over one-year period can give up from studying at university by desiring their lives because of the making a lot of money, not being obliged for passing exam and so on. And consequently, this choice can destroy the whole system of their lives. Moreover, citizens travelling to another country can a making a decision about not returning back to their motherland and accept the citizenship of that state instead of theirs. Finally, a year is a great period in everyone”s life and it is not exception that the young cannot do what they planned and as a result, they may loose their valuable time.

Overall, personally, I strongly believe that all should be a bit risk-taker. Everything has positive and negative sides and we have not got any guarantee for our future, however, any person should achieve a balance between his or her character and all possibilities and come to a conclusion independently.