Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society.

To what extend do you agree with this view?

In all the forms of media; print electronic and new age, we are bombarded daily with adverts seeking our attention, time and money. However, the manner in which some of these adverts are placed could be described as unethical and unacceptable.

Firstly some methods of advertising give false information about the products. Very often, producers inform their audience that their products are able to solve a particular issue, even when such claims have not been proved by the regulatory body. Take for instance, herbal drugs that are said to cure diabetes. Although, there is no medical proof of this ability, the advert for such drugs will clearly state this claim, thereby misleading the buyers. Secondly, some adverts may not be entirely false but they give partial information on the product or services being advertised. For example, an advert on alcohol will place emphasis on the perceived benefits of drinking, which might include relaxation while spending time with friends, without stating the obvious ill effect that alcohol consumption has on the kidney. This, I would say, is unacceptable.

Furthermore, the advert for some products are made to appeal to the emotions of the target buyers using words like ‘you deserve it’, ‘because we care’. This will encourage people to buy products that they are unable to afford and do not need.

To conclude, many of the strategies presently used in advertising could be considered unacceptable or outright unethical. This trend will continue unless strict regulations are put in place by authorities.