Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

It is true that many advertisers often adopt morally unacceptable ways to attract more customers. Personally, I agree with this contention for three reasons.

To begin with, it is easy to find many advertisements that contain inappropriate contents on televisions these days. The result of this is that children are often exposed to sexual or violent scenes. The aim of these visually provocative adverts is to catch audiences’ attentions. However, this may have adverse effects on young people who are not mature enough and may encourage them to imitate the contents.

Furthermore, marketers often produce adverts aimed at young children. When these children watch the advertisements which are often designed to be desirable, they usually become tempted and start to pester their parents to get the products. As a result, this may put enormous pressure on parents who cannot afford them.

Finally, there are many misleading adverts that induce people to purchase the goods and services. These products and services are often exaggerated that the features turn out to be different from what they were advertised. For example, toothpastes are usually advertised in a way that they will whiten people's teeth instantly, but in fact it takes a long time for that to happen. In consequence, buyers become manipulated and led to wasting their money.

In conclusion, my point of view is that a means of modern advertising is crossing the line by having a negative impact on societies especially for children through exhibiting harmful contents and such marketing strategy, and for adults by presenting lower quality products and services than they were advertised.