Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Over the last few decades, mostly due to the development of technology, advertising is dominating the world that we live. However, there is a general belief that advertising industry uses mostly unethical and unacceptable methods to sell new products. Personally, I fully agree with this view because most of the ads make false claims or are highly misleading.

To begin with, advertisers use any kind of trick to sell their products. The most popular is when they hire a famous person to promote their items. For example, if a well-known actor or athlete is advertising a shampoo, most of the population believes that the quality of the item is very high. Moreover, gullible people will buy this item hoping that they will look alike their idols. Such ads make false claims in order to increase their sales.

It is evident, as well, that some companies increase the prices in their products so only rich people can afford to buy them. This is another way of unethical advertising. The greatest example is Apple, a company with highly priced items but with same features and specification with cheaper ones. Their goal is to manipulate emotionally people with lower education that values more their image.

Advertisements targeting children are even more dangerous. For example, fast food companies give away toys with children's meals, so their parents have to buy them. Despite the fact that fast food can lead to major health problems, such as obesity, this advertising technique makes people buy unhealthy food.

To conclude, I would like to say that although advertising plays a key part in marketing products, false and misleading advertisements should be regulated or even banned.