Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for charity , improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, with increasing problems in teenage community. Some people are in favour of including non paying community services as part of school teaching programs. I believe this change would bring up a great deal of benefits to overall society.

It is argued that, competition is growing everyday and the courses are getting tougher with each passing year. Implication of community work on students would highly affect their study routines. For instance pupil studying competitive subjects would have to complete the assigned tasks at the expense of their precious time. Therefore affecting overall performance, consequently deviating them from the basic track.

However, service before self is the foundation on which paradigm of a successful society is laid. First of all one of the major reason of teenage crime is boredom. Youngsters having no specific activities go astray and gets involved in drugs, cyber crimes, street crimes and many more. Nonetheless, if student are guided towards sports, coaching children or raising the charity for needy population, that certainly would drop the overall rate of misconduct in this age group. Secondly stepping forward and putting efforts to improve neighborhood has a pivotal role in mental grooming of youths. Thus, polishing their minds to become a responsible community member in future.

Furthermore, social work encourages qualities such as sympathy, responsibility, management and many more which are fundamental for character building of adolescents. While doing so we can inspire the coming generation to realize the shortcomings of a society and omit them, leading the community towards a better tomorrow.

All in all every existing society needs responsible members to rely upon. I agree to the point that by implementing community services, young generation can be channelized in a direction that would filter their maximum efficiency in every aspect.