Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there lots of different types of unpaid community services at high schools. In accordance, with the internal regulations of schools, those kind of services is either voluntarily or compulsory.

We must acknowledge that, unpaid community services several benefits both for a society and pupils, thus, it can be compulsory at high schools. Pupils working in those kinds of services are likely to learn helping people and get on well with their peers. In addition, sport of a main precursor that encourages youngsters to do their best and have a healthy lifestyle which prevents negative habits such as drug addition, alcoholism etc.

On the other hand, forcing youngsters to do something in not the best way to achieve positive consequences, both for individuals as well as for the whole society and sometimes this method ends up in diverse results. A student, for example, can claim that, compulsory unpaid service is the violation if one of the basic human rights that has been stated in European Convention on Human Rights, due to the fact that any individual should be respected for their free choices of workplace. Therefore, rather than forcing students at high schools, they should be encouraged and should be explained of the benefits of unpaid compulsory services.

To summarize, taking the above mentioned reasons into account, I strongly believe that students should not be forced to work in unpaid community services, because forcing is not the best way to treat with human beings. Instead, students should be explained the benefits of this services and let them choose freely what they want to do.