Some people feel that certain workers like nurses, doctors and teachers are undervalued and should be paid more, especially when other people like film actors or company bosses are paid huge sums of money that are out of proportion to the importance of the work that they do.

-How far do you agree?

-What criteria should be used to decide how much people are paid?

It is undeniably true that most nurses, doctors and teachers are under compensated. Where else, the actors and company bosses are earning large amount of money even they are not qualified in what they do. In my opinion, I agree on giving generous wages for the nurses, doctors and teachers.

Healing and taking care of sick people and teaching children are the three noble professions. We often hear that these are selfless vocation, people who are in this line of work dedicates most of their time, strength and knowledge just to help others. In my country, The Philippines, it is unfortunate to see that these type of employment is not giving enough salary and benefits as they tend to work overseas instead on their homeland.

Huge compensation are given to the professionals working in corporate world such as Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and actors who portrays other people. CEO who manages the people who makes money for them. For CEO who achieved their position are not visible without the help of their professors, nurses and doctors who monitors their health. Actors gets more salary by endorsing clothe lines and accessories.

I believe that the criteria to decide how much people are paid should be based on their workloads, their contribution to the society and to the country such as military and police officers alike. In this way, the under valued profession such as nurses, doctors and teachers will remain in years to come.

Therefore, I conclude that providing a good compensation and generous benefits for noble professions are ideal as they dedicate their lives to inspire us.