Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Media have a big influence in today's society and advertisement is one part of it. Many people see it as positive for the society, however, some don't. In my opinion, advertisements have both the aspects and it is up to the individuals to wisely take decision and not get carried away with it.

Advertisements are backbone of any company. It is a medium through which manufacturers showcase their products and its features to their consumers. For instance, it would be very difficult for the manufacturers to tell their customers about the newly introduced products and about the enhancements to the existing products. On the other hand, advertisements even help the customers also in deciding what to buy and what are the various options available for them in the market. Over and above, advertisement is a creative art and employees many people and helps in reducing unemployment as well.

Talking about the darker side of the advertisements, they are sometimes misleading and make false commitments. Many advertisements are targeted on kids as they are the soft target. Kids on seeing such advertisements insist their parents to those products. Obesity is a serious problem seen today in kids because they eat more junk food simple because of these advertisements. In many countries, advertisements are shown on harmful products like cigarette and alcohol which encourages youngsters to consume such harmful things.

To summaries, advertisement can influence both in positive and negative way. But few steps can be taken to improve the level of advertisement. For instance, advertisement should be regulated and government should have control on them. Advertisements on harmful products like cigarette and alcohol should be banned and furthermore, unhealthy food should not be marketed in a way that attracts children.