Some people say that competition is good for children’s development while others believe it is bad. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One of highly controversial debates today relates to whether competition is useful for children’s improvement or is rather harmful for them. In this essay, I am going to delve into the question from both points of views through presenting the merits and demerits and then give my own perspective on the matter.

On one side of the argument, some people contend that children can development themselves through competition. I also agree that competition can actually lead to boosting all-round development of children and it stimulates and motivates them to work hard. For example, if there is a prize or reward for a student who manages to get high exam results in comparison to any other classmate, or who behaves in the right way; he or she will study hard to turn into a competent student and try to comply with school rules and accepting the demands of teachers. In this way, children can gain knowledge and skills, which are helpful in later life when they need to work under pressure at a company and follow directions given by their managers.

On the other hand, others consider competition to be a negative influence on children. In my view, competition can give an exceeding stress on children. During the intense competition, some of children could be left out due to a failure to catch up and getting behind others. Those who end up being behind will lose their self-esteem and confidence, resulting from the others whose achievements are by far superior. At the same time, the stress they suffer will give a deteriorated impact on them.

In conclusion, competition is beneficial for children’s versatile-development, while it can result in giving a lot of stress on them. However, in my opinion, I tend to believe that the benefits of competition outweigh the drawbacks.