Some people say that there should be a single official international language. Others oppose to this idea. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People around the world use about 6000 different languages today. Menu of those are used in small communities but there are still a lot of languages that are widely used. So many languages are barrier for international trade and especially for education. Some says that it would be wise to make one language official for all international communication, but others do not believe in that idea.

Benefits of one common language for all people in the world are more then obviously. There will be no need for translation, everybody would understand everyone, communication would be faster cheaper and more accurate. Education would be much more available because it would be only one huge bank of knowledge from which everybody could take equally.

These sounds like utopia but there are menu drawback in such reasoning. First of all which language should be chosen to be that one language to rule them all. I am certain that it would caused more problems than it could possibly resolved. Should it be Chines as most people on the world use it, or Hindi or Spanish. English is on forth place for native language and on second for second language. Even if manage to agree on which language to use it would mean almost certain disappearance of menu small ones and with them their culture.

Although benefits of these idea are numerous I don't think it is feasible and practical. In my opinion there should not be one authority which will decide about it. It should be graduate process and if it happens it happens. In a meantime technology is answer for these few thousand languages. Even today services like Google translate are good enough to communicate and to help us understand peace of text. They are not perfect but they are usable and in the future it will become much more.