Some people think it is better for children to begin to learn a foreign language at primary school than at secondary school. What’s your opinion? Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is commonly understood that learning foreign languages in today’s world is prevalent. Naturally, the role of obtaining new language is earth-shattering among children. The argument, that to begin learning a foreign language for children at primary school is superior to secondary school, is a subject that is both supported and refuted by many. Both sides of this argument will be analyzed before a reasoned conclusion is drawn.

Firstly, the psychologists who support the view of secondary school argue that children going to secondary school acquire a target language better than primary school in terms of concentration and the cause-effect relations. For example, they can compare and contrast the ways of written and spoken discourse between a lingo and a mother tongue. Therefore the importance of beginning learning language at a secondary school is a plausible outcome. Thus this makes it clear why this argument is efficient in education.

However, on the side of this argument it must be remembered that the children at the primary are interested in mastering an alien language. For instance, they just don’t attend language classes because of their teacher’s obligation. Unfortunately, this is something that the majority of secondary school’s pupils cannot apply. Hence, it is easy to see why the argument that to start learning languages at primary school is better rather than secondary school could also be credible.

In summary, both sides of the argument regarding the precedence of starting to learn a foreign language either primary school or secondary school have strong support. However, after analyzing both camps it is clear for me that the idea of beginning learning a language only at secondary school should not be supported. In my point of view, the earlier one begins to learn a foreign language, the faster they hit their intended result.